Skip to content

Maastricht Treaty

Maastricht Treaty
The Treaty of Maastricht was contracted on 7 February 1992 by the members of the European Community in Maastricht, the Netherlands. The Maastricht Treaty has been improved to a degree by later treaties. The treaty extended to the introduction of the euro currency, and produced what is normally denoted to as the pillar structure of the European Union.

Objectives of Maastricht Treaty
The Treaty of Maastricht responds to five key goals:
Develop the Community social dimension;
Establish economic and monetary union;
Establish a common foreign and security policy.
Improve the effectiveness of the institutions;
Strengthen the democratic legitimacy of the institutions;

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *