Skip to content

Physical Research Laboratory India

The Physical Research Laboratory (PRL) is a national Research Institute for space and allied sciences, supported primarily by section of Space, Government of India. This research laboratory has ongoing research programmes in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Atmospheric Sciences and Aeronomy, Earth Sciences, Solar System studies and Theoretical Physics. The National Physical Laboratory is one of the most former national labs set up under the Council of Scientific & Industrial Research. Late Shri Jawaharlal Nehru laid the foundation stone of NPL on the 4th Jan. 1947. Late Dr. K. S. Krishnan, FRS, was the first manager of the laboratory. The primary building of the laboratory was officially opened by Late Deputy Prime Minister. Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel. On the 21st January 1950.The Silver Jubilee festivity of the Laboratory were opened by Late Prime Minister, Shrimati Indira Gandhi, on 23rd December 1975.

The laboratory furnishes apex level standardization services in the country; covering National Accreditation Board for Testing and Calibration Laboratories (NABL), the national accreditation body in the country
(i) its specified assessors as needed for establishing best measurement capacity of the applicant laboratory; in particular its scientific,
(ii) its technical input to enable NABL to decide the suitability of the applicant laboratory for accreditation, and
(iii) its staff to train testing laboratories for estimate of uncertainty in their measurements

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *