Go Back   2023 2024 Courses.Ind.In > Main Category > Main Forum

Old February 2nd, 2013, 04:32 PM
geethanjalims

Default B.Sc Chemistry Syllabus Osmania University

I am a student of Osmania University B.Sc III year and I am searching here for Chemistry syllabus so please can you give me the syllabus and provide me the page where I can download the syllabus?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old February 7th, 2013, 10:18 AM
Super Moderator

Default Re: B.Sc Chemistry Syllabus Osmania University

The syllabus for B.Sc III year of Chemistry paper for Osmania University is as follows:-

Unit – I (Inorganic Chemistry-III) 30 hrs (1 h/w)

1. Coordination Chemistry: IUPAC nomenclature, bonding theories – review of Werner’s theory and Sidgwick’s concept of coordination, Valence bond theory, geometries of coordination numbers 4-tetrahedral and square planar and 6-octahedral and its
limitations, crystal filed theory, splitting of d-orbitals in octahedral, tetrahedral and square-planar complexes – low spin and high spin complexes – factors affecting crystalfield splitting energy, merits and demerits of crystal-field theory. Isomerism in coordination compounds – structural isomerism and stereo isomerism, stereochemistry of complexes with 4 and 6 coordination numbers.
10 h

2. Spectral and magnetic properties of metal complexes: Electronic absorption spectrum of [Ti(H2O)6]3+ ion. Types of magnetic behavior, spin-only formula, calculation of
magnetic moments, experimental determination of magnetic susceptibility – Gouy method.
4 h
3. Reactivity of metal complexes: Labile and inert complexes, ligand substitution reactions
– SN1 and SN2, substitution reactions of square planar complexes – Trans effect and applications of trans effect.

For The complete syllabus I am attaching the PDF file
Attached Files
File Type: pdf OU Syllabus BSc III yr Chemistry.pdf (99.9 KB, 25 views)
Old January 8th, 2015, 11:05 AM
gouthami